Spring Rapid 2017 – Rounds 1-3

The first 3 rounds of the Spring Rapid were held on August 21st. We had almost 70 players. The next 3 rounds will be held next week.

A reminder that the Winter Cup starts on September 4th, if you want to player you need to enter within the next week. We are also looking for players for the B grade (under 1800) Interclub team. Signups sheets for both are at the Club.

Vega page for the Spring Rapid

The Club Rapid Champion is determined by adding the score of this tournament to the Autumn Rapid score. See here for scores in that tournament.

Round 1

There was a big gap between players ratings so only a few upsets (plus three no-shows)


  • Uday Jain beat Don Eade (653 points rating difference)
  • Ying Wang beat Andrew Michael
  • Kenny Zhang beat Wayne McDougall

Round 2

Rating differences were still high so few upsets

  • Renae Ghadiali beat Wayne McDougall (who was not having a good night)
  • Abraham Deng beat Zyre Milina
  • Jacob Chai beat Felix Xie

Round 3

Around 40 players took a bye in the last round (and two went home without asking for a bye) so only 13 boards for his round.


  • Eric Liang beat Andrew Michael (giving his 2nd upset)
  • Alex Nagorski drew with John Duneas (and John was lucky to get that)
  • Winston Weng drew with Stephen Peak

After 3 rounds there are 5 players with 3 wins: Bruce Watson, Alexei Kulashko, Daniel Gong, Ben Hague and Allen Fan.