Final Night 2019

December 16th was the final night of the Auckland Chess Centre in 2019. We had the AGM, Prizegiving, pizza and a pairs tournament.

Photos by Nigel Metge and Simon Lyall are online


The council was elected unopposed with Nigel Metge replacing Bryan Latimer. Club Captain Simon Lyall also outlined the scheduled for 2020 saying there would be fewer round-robins and more FIDE- and NZCF-rated tournaments.


Winners of the major tournaments this year were announced and photos taken of those present (by Nigel Metge). Club President Bruce Wheeler also picked the “Centre Spirit” winner who was Yolanda Chang.

Centre Spirit Winner Yolander Chang

Pairs Tournament

The 4 round pairs tournament was run (2 people on each team, alternating moves) with the highest rated players paired with the lowest.

Winners were the mid-range pair of Stephen Peak and Jeffrey Yu with 3.5/4

Second equal were 3 other teams led by Paul Garbett, Bruce Watson and Alexei Kulashko all on 3 points.