2020 Spring Rapid – Rounds 1-3

With the Latest Covid-19 lockdown there is a good chance that Monday Chess will be suspended for a time. We will post an update once the government announces an update to the lockdown.

A reminder to check that you have entered the Club Champs. This will probably be the next event to be held. Check the vega page to make sure you are entered.

The Spring Rapid is the 2nd leg (after the Blitz) of the ACC Rapid Champs. Points earned in each event got towards determining the winner.

Spring Rapid Rounds 1 to 3

The first 3 rounds of the Spring Rapid were held on August 10th. The field was very full with several latecomers having to be turned away.

Vega Page for the Spring Rapid

Photos from the Spring Rapid

Round 1

Upsets (all 500 or more point different) were:

Sai Somaraju beat Nico McKinlay
Eric Mironov beat Eric Fan
Pranav Shenoy beat Alan Leach
Daqi Mao beat Clinton Wells
Eden Oshri beat Sameer Khanal

Round 2

Eric Mironov got his send upset in a row, an 835 point difference, although is opponent was probably a little over-rated.

Eric Mironov beat Anas Zara
Charlotte Ray beat David Zhu
Mantra Bhatt beat John McClory
Ayaan Vasudeva beat Anderson Chen
Victor Coen beat Abraham Deng

Round 3

Many players took half-point byes in the last round including the 5 top seeds. This left 4 players sharing the lead on a perfect score: Hao Tang, Rauen Le Grange, Alex Nagorski and Euan McDougall. Even if rounds 4-6 are played the top seeds may not be able to catch them.

Upsets in Round 3

There were a large number of upsets in this round. 14 of the 19 boards had upsets. Eric Mironov got his 3rd upset in a row with a draw with Stephen Peak.

Ethan Sheng beat John McClory
Zihao Lin beat Paul Kane
Eric Mironov drew with Stephen Peak
Grayson Po’e-Tofaeono beat Isabelle Ning
Bao Nguyen beat Abraham Deng
Ayaan Vasudeva beat Nicholas McKinlay
Daqi Mao beat Anaz Zara
Victor Coen beat Sylvia McDougall
Hunter Po’e-Tofaeono beat Mike Steiner
Hao Tang beat Richard Taylor